Occultic;Nine is a suspense mystery with secrets and twists galore. But many of those hidden nuggets have actually been right in front of us since the very beginning. They were just in code.

[Note: This article contains major spoilers for Occultic;Nine.]

Occultic;Nine is a series born from the mind of Chiyomaru Shikura. For those unfamiliar with him, he is the creator of such series as Chaos;Head, Steins;Gate, Robotics;Notes, and this season’s Chaos;Child (note the abundance of semicolons). Shikura is also famous as a song writer. He has written almost every opening and ending theme song for the above-named series.

Shikura has gone on record as saying that his proximity with the stories he creates allows him to write more intimate songs that outsourced composers just wouldn’t be able to do. One of his favorite things to do in his songs is to insert meaningful lines and phrases that could be viewed as spoilers–but actually don’t make sense unless you’ve actually seen through a series. They’re his playful little gift to people who have watched to the end and can now look back and notice dangling hints that have been in front of them the whole time. They also add a much greater emotional punch when you realize what they really mean–I still get tears in my eyes when I listen to the original video game opening theme to Steins;Gate and the line “choice becomes blasphemy” comes up.

Now that Occultic;Nine has come to an end, we can dissect the rocking opening theme song, Seisū 3 no Nijō, and see all that was hidden in there.

Ten Rocking Theme Songs from Fall 2016

Provided courtesy of iTunes
Lyrics by Chiyomaru Shikura
(Translation by me)

“Hope” is nowhere to be found, “Memories” are in my hand
“The answer” is deep inside my pocket
It “Sinks” into the darkness of night, the morphine that is “Ecstasy”
Underneath “Consciousness,” the electrode is almost asleep

  • Right off the bat, the first line hints at the despair that the protagonists find themselves in with their deaths at the end of episode three and the overarching conspiracy that they have been caught up in. The word “memories” also is relevant as after their deaths, the characters are essentially nothing but their own consciousness and memories.
  • The second line seems to hint at the tooth/key that the main character, Yuuta, retrieved in episode two and carried in his pocket.
  • The “sinks” in line three seems to be another indicator of the 256 Incident where 256 people drown themselves in Inokashira Pond.
  • The “electrode” underneath consciousness seems to be another hint at the electrical ghosts that the characters are reduced to after their untimely deaths.

I have nothing to offer but blood and tears.
Now, the time is ripe, the odd eye begins to move
It is not length of life, but depth of life.
A place where there is another sky, Come Together, near to you—

  • This is speculation on my part as the first line is in English and not Japanese, but the “blood and tears” could be a reference to the Japanese (and English) phrase of “blood, sweat, and tears,” which means the extensive effort and labor spent when trying to accomplish a difficult task. It could also have a double meaning as “blood” is a universal indicator of “life” meaning “self-sacrifice.”
  • The “odd eye” in the second line is obviously a reference to the two antennae in the Fuchū Air Base which in the series are actually a Wardenclyffe Tower in disguise. The time being ripe indicates secret organization the Society of Eight Gods of Fortune’s plans finally coming together.
  • The third line at first sounds like a motivational quote, but in retrospect hints at the time dilation factor in the series and the characters’ time limit.
  • The “another sky” in the fourth line is a reminder that astral beings and non-astral beings live in very different worlds due to the aforementioned time dilation. The “Come Together” and “near to you” is not just a rallying call, but a hint at the fact that most people can’t interact with astral beings even if they share the same space.

The Real World Locations of Occultic;Nine

A new world no one has ever seen, the only, the five senses are already the absolute in vagueness
And now, the remaining key of truth, the good absolute evil
I am now sensitive and obviously trembling

  • The “new world” is a note to the world inhabited by the dead. The part about the five senses seems to be an indication that the senses that the ghost characters feel are illusions of their self-perception. This is also a subtle indicator to a climactic point that while reality can alter their self-perception, their self-perception can also alter reality itself.
  • The “key of truth” is, again, the tooth/key from the deceased Professor Hashigami that Yuuta obtains. The “good absolute evil” is the Wardenclyffe gun and tower that serve as vital components to both the protagonists’ and antagonists’ plans.
  • The last line seems to be an observation by Yuuta himself on his status, which indicates that the entire song is being sung from his perspective, most likely right before the end of the series.

As stated previously, Chiyomaru Shikura likes writing theme songs with veiled hints at key plot points and themes in his series. The songs are quite enjoyable on their own, but the enjoyment is magnified when you understand the hidden meanings contained within. I’m seriously looking forward to listening to the theme song for Chaos;Child both before and after I watch the series.

Occultic;Nine can be viewed on Daisuki and Crunchyroll in the US, and on AnimeLab in AU/NZ.

Anime News Newtwork Feed